Outdoor Hospitality News

For owners, operators, team members, and anyone else interested in camping, glamping, or the RV industry.

2023 Australian Caravan Industry Awards: Recognizing Excellence and Innovation

The Australian caravan industry came together for an extraordinary evening to celebrate its brightest stars during the National Conference Gala Dinner. 

According to a news release by the Caravan Industry Association of Australia, the event served as a platform to acknowledge the tireless commitment and significant contributions of various individuals and organizations.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the industry’s most esteemed honor, The Eric Hayman OAM Award for Excellence, to Alison Huth. For over thirty years, Huth has shown unwavering dedication and passion for the betterment of the caravan industry. Her advice and assistance to Queensland parks and nationwide have been instrumental.

Huth’s significant contributions include her active participation in committees, most notably during the Bed Bug crisis in Queensland. Her invaluable advice was circulated not just nationally but also throughout the broader tourism industry. 

Moreover, her commitment to improving business practices saw her involved in park accreditation during its formative years, helping the program grow from 10 to an impressive 330 properties.

In addition to her service, Huth has researched and authored books about the industry, further establishing her as an authority in the field. Even as she travels in a caravan for “What’s Up Downunder,” she continues to write positively about the caravan and camping industry, reaching a broad consumer base. 

Notably, Alison’s achievement marks a significant milestone as she is the first woman to receive the prestigious Eric Hayman OAM Award for Excellence.

The Gala also saw Newbook securing the Gerry Ryan OAM Award for Innovation for the second consecutive year, a testament to its continuous innovative efforts. The Richard Davis OAM Award was shared by industry veterans Donna Cocking and Dennis Austin, acknowledging their exceptional service to the National Body.

Rob Lucas, recognized for his lengthy service to Caravan Industry Victoria and his dedication to improving industry standards, was presented with the Chairman’s Award by Grant Wilckens. 

The future of the industry also got a nod with Jeb Grose receiving the THL Future Leaders Award and a $10,000 scholarship. Finalists Nick Braun, Amanda Dempster, Ben Reichstein, and Stephen Ritchie were also acknowledged, each receiving a $1,000 scholarship.

The gala concluded with the presentation of the People’s Choice Awards. Sunland Caravans and NRMA Forster Tuncurry Holiday Park won Gold in the DLL People’s Choice Manufacturer of the Year Awards and the ReviewPro People’s Choice Caravan Park of the Year Awards, respectively.

This event underscores the dynamic nature of the Australian caravan industry and the relentless pursuit of excellence by its members. As the industry continues to innovate and evolve, occasions like these serve as a reminder of the dedication and resilience of those propelling it forward.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Paul Howard
Paul Howard
March 23, 2024 8:16 pm

Ever heard about the 2023 Australian Caravan Industry Awards? Let’s chat about the exciting winners and how they’re changing the game in the caravan world! Get ready to be impressed!


Send this to a friend
Hi, you might find this article from Modern Campground interesting: 2023 Australian Caravan Industry Awards: Recognizing Excellence and Innovation! This is the link: https://moderncampground.com/australia/2023-australian-caravan-industry-awards-recognizing-excellence-and-innovation/