The Emirate of Sharjah (; ) is one of the states of the United Arab Emirates. The emirate covers and has a population of over 800,000 (2008). The emirate of Sharjah comprises the capital city of Sharjah, after which it is named, and other minor towns and exclaves such as Kalba, Dibba Al-Hisn and Khor Fakkan. The emirate is a constitutional monarchy. It has been ruled by Sultan bin Mohamed Al-Qasimi since 1972.

Leave a Reply