The Penn State Nittany Lions football team represents the Pennsylvania State University in college football. The Nittany Lions compete in the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision as a member of the Big Ten Conference, which they joined in 1994 after playing as an Independent from their founding through 1993. Established in 1887, the Nittany Lions have achieved numerous on-field successes, the most notable of which include two consensus national championships (in 1982 and 1986), three Big Ten Conference Championships (in 1994, 2005 and 2008), and 45 appearances in college bowl games, with a postseason bowl record of 28-15-2. The Nittany Lions play their home games at Beaver Stadium, located on-campus in University Park, Pennsylvania. With an official seating capacity of 106,572, Beaver Stadium is the second-largest stadium in the western hemisphere, behind only Michigan Stadium in Ann Arbor, Michigan. The team is currently coached by James Franklin.

Leave a Reply