The North Country is a region of the U.S. state of New York that encompasses the state’s extreme northern frontier, bordering Lake Ontario on the west, the Saint Lawrence River and the Canadian provinces of Ontario and Quebec on the north and northwest, and Lake Champlain and Vermont on the east. Generally speaking, the North Country is understood to be that portion of northern Upstate New York which lies outside the Adirondack Park and consists of mostly level lands or the foothills of the Adirondack Mountains, but is not within the Adirondack range itself. The region is the most sparsely populated, but also the geographically largest, in New York. At the 2010 census, the population of all six counties was 428,357. The New York State Department of Transportation defines this as part of the Adirondack Region, which includes the counties of Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lewis, St. Lawrence, and Warren. The term is sometimes used to mean alternately “those parts of New York in the Burlington, Vermont media market” as well as “that media market as a whole” (including all of Vermont and Quebec as far north as the northernmost suburbs of Montreal). The North Country Trail, more formally known as the “North Country National Scenic Trail,” is a 4,600-mile long-distance trail being developed and is proposed to begin at Crown Point, New York on Lake Champlain and traverses New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, and North Dakota.

Leave a Reply