Bruce County is a county in Southwestern Ontario, Canada, and includes the Bruce Peninsula. The county seat is Walkerton, Ontario. The name of the county is linked to the Bruce Trail and the Bruce Peninsula, which the trail runs through. Officially, Bruce County is named for James Bruce, 8th Earl of Elgin and 12th Earl of Kincardine, sixth Governor General of the Province of Canada. The county contains the Bruce Peninsula National Park. Notable towns include Tobermory and Wiarton, home of the weather predicting groundhog Wiarton Willie.

Leave a Reply